Michael D. Higgins – 55.8% Public vote:

In his victory speech, Mr Higgins vowed to be a President “for all the people” of Ireland. He added: “The people have made a choice as to which version of Irishness they want reflected at home and abroad.”

Peter Casey – 23.3% Public vote:

Mr. Casey said he would contest again in the next presidential election, but added he “could be the Taoiseach then”.

Liadh Ni Riada – 6.4% Public vote:

Ms Ní Riada said she would like to see the President now lead the discussion on a united Ireland.

Sean Gallagher – 6.4% Public vote:

Mr. Gallagher expressed his disappointment of the result and has not ruled out running for the Presidency in the next Election.

Joan Freeman – 6.0% Public vote:

The Pieta House founder said that following the election she did not think she would run for office again.

Gavin Duffy – 2.2% Public vote:

Mr. Duffy said he has no regrets following his election campaign. He said he applied for a job which he now realises was not available, and that he was proud he put his hat in the ring.

Michael D Higgins was elected yesterday for a second term as President of Ireland

-Noah Harte